Our Governing Body (2018 – 2019)

Our Governors

The governors at St. Joseph’s Catholic Primary School are fully committed to supporting the Head Teacher and Senior Leadership Team to continue to provide the very best education and school experience for our children.  The relationship between the governors and the leadership team is positive and based upon trust, openness and transparency.

St. Joseph’s Governing Body (2018 – 2019)

Mr. M McKay – Chair of Governors/Foundation Governor
Responsibilities – Year 5/English/Exclusions
Term of Office: 01/09/2014 – 31/08/2018

Miss  M Davies – Vice Chair/Foundation Governor
Responsibilities – Year 2/Mathematics/Admissions
Term of Office: 03/02/16 – 31/08/19

Fr. John Cunningham  – Foundation Governor
Responsibilities – Reception/Assessment/RE
Term of Office: 01/09/2015 – 31/08/2019

Mrs. R Elson – Foundation Governor
Responsibilities – SEN/Chair Of School Improvement Committee/CLA/Safeguarding/Year 1
Term of Office: 01/10/2015 – 30/09/2019

Mr. G Skelton – Local Authority Governor
Responsibilities: Foundation Subjects/ArtsMark/EAL/HLP/Nursery
Term of Office: 11/11/15 – 10/11/19

Mrs. E Kelly – Parent Governor
Responsibilities: Computing/Mathematics/Year 4/School Improvement/Admissions
Term of Office: 22/05/17 – 21/05/21

Mr. J Bonsignore – Foundation Governor
Responsibilities: Health and Safety/Premises/Year 3/Resources
Term of Office: 16/11/17 – 14/11/21

Mr. P Coyne – Associate Member
Responsibilities – Admissions/Year 3
Term of Office: 28/04/2014 – 27/04/2017

Mrs.  D Perone – Staff Governor

Mr. T Gorton – Head Teacher (Staff Governor)
Term of Office: 01/09/2011 – present

Mrs. B O’Connor – Deputy Head/Associate Member
Term of Office: 18/07/2015 – 17/07/2019

 Mrs. C Irons – Clerk to the Governing Body

Governors With other Interests In Educational Establishments

Fr. John is a Foundation Governor at St. Mary’s Catholic School, Bishop’s Stortford.

Mr. G Skelton – Wife employed at St. Joseph’s Catholic Primary School.

Mr. J Bonsignore – Wife employed at St. Joseph’s Catholic Primary School

Governors Who Have Left The Governing Body During The Last 12 Months

Miss G Parsons – Foundation Governor
Term of Office: 01/09/2014 – 31/08/2018


Full Governing Body Meetings are held once a term and Committee Meetings (Resources and School Improvement) also take place once a term.

Resources Committee

The Chairperson of the Resources Committee is Miss Megan Davies.

The Resources Committee is responsible for:

  • Admissions

  • Premises

  • Finance

  • Personnel

  • Safeguarding

School Improvement Committee

The Chairperson of the School Improvement Committee is Mrs Raquel Elson.

The School Improvement Committee is responsible for:

  • School Development Plan

  • Pupil Progress And Attainment

  • Vulnerable Groups

  • Pupil Premium (Disadvantaged Pupils)

The Full Governing Body Meetings for 2018 – 2019 are as follows:




The School Improvement Committee Meetings for 2018 – 2019 are as follows: 




The Resources Committee Meetings for 2018 – 2019 will be published following the Full Governing Body Meeting on 27-09-18.